donderdag 23 augustus 2007

Eneco Tour Stage 2 : Beñat in the break

Unlike all the other stage races in the protour the first real stage of the Eneco Tour didn't start with a sprint stage but with a nice hilly ride and the riders certainly wanted to make something nice out of it.

Early in the race there was a break with Beñat among them but the break couldn't stay away and there were caught again by a peloton with 50 riders. It rained attacks but on the last climb a group was formed of seven with Nick Nuyens who won the sprint before Thomas Dekker, Jose Ivan Gutierrez and David Millar.

Mikel Astarloza was the first Euskaltel rider on the 22th place, in the same group as Ruben. Iban Mayoz didn't finish the race but I don't have a clue yet why.

Stage result
1 Nick Nuyens (Bel) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone 4.42.38 (40.22 km/h)
2 Thomas Dekker (Ned) Rabobank ST
3 José Ivan Gutierrez Palacios (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne ST
22. Mikel Astarloza +0.37
25. Ruben Perez +0.37
54. Benat Albizuri +6.48
69. Iban Mayoz +10.41
71. Jorge Azanza +10.41
92. Aitor Galdos +10.41
108. Unai Etxebarria +10.41
124. Joseba Zubeldia +13.38

Geen opmerkingen: