maandag 20 augustus 2007

Vattenfall Cyclassics : Ballan Wins Galdos 17

Alessandro Ballan (Lampre) has won his second big classic of the season, after his win in the Tour of Flandres early in the season, he now won the Vattenfall Cyclassics in Hamburg. He escaped in the last kilometre and managed to stay away from the sprinters.

Early in the race there was an escape with Luke Roberts (CSC), Gerben Löwik (Rabobank) and Floris Goesinnen (Skill Shimano), they got a maximum advantage of 15 minutes but at 20km before the finish there story was over. Aftern they were taken back, there were alot of escapes and once it looked like the final break was made. A group with Bettini, Voigt and Ricco escaped but they couldn't agree to ride together so they were taken back and everything was ready for a sprint.

It was T-mobile and Rabobank who prepared the sprint for their sprinters Gerald Ciolek and Oscar Freire but they couldn't keep up the pace so Alessandro Ballan escaped and he won. Oscar Freire managed to come very close second and Gerald Ciolek third.

Aitor Galdos was the only one from Euskaltel in the group of 22 for the sprint but due to bad placing he only got the 17th place. There was also bad news for Euskaltel, Gorka Verdugo fell and probably broke his collarbone so he wont compete in the eneco tour and he will probably end his season with this.

1 Alessandro Ballan (Ita) Lampre - Fondital 5.21.05 (42.811 km/h)
2 Oscar Freire Gomez (Spa) Rabobank ST
3 Gerald Ciolek (Ger) T-Mobile Team ST
17. Aitor Galdos ST
27. Jon Bru +0.05
29. Ruben Perez +0.05
63. Koldo Fernandez +1.19
66. Dionisio Galparsoro +1.19
68. Juan Jose Oroz +1.19
76. Alan Perez +1.42

Geen opmerkingen: