zondag 16 september 2007

Vuelta Stage 15 : Samuel Wins !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was an historical day for Euskaltel and my blog. It was the first time since I have my blog that Euskaltel wins something and it wasn't just something, it was a great stage in the Vuelta on the Alto de Monachil and Samuel Sanchez did it. First I wanted to celebrate this with an blogentry with only "yesyesyes" and "!!!!!" but I think you prefer a report :P

Early in the stage a group of 20 left, among them Haimar Zubeldia but in the peloton Euskaltel was working as crazy people, because Samuel was feeling good probably. They brought the group closer and at the Alto de Monachil they only had 1 minute left. One of the first to attack on the climb was Igor Anton but he couldn't stay away from the group of favorites. At the same time only Cunego and Beltran were still ahead from the early break and the door at the end of the group of favorites was wide open.

With six riders we rode to the top : Sastre, Menchov, Efimkin, Evans, Samuel and Igor and right before the top Samuel attacked, knowing that he's one of the greatest descenders in the peloton. He managed to reach Cunego, left him behind and then reached Beltran. Together they went to the finish but Beltran wasn't strong enough to win in the sprint, so Sanchez won another Vuelta Stage !!! In the group of favorites Barredo jumped away but Igor stopped him a bit and became 4th in the stage.

Due to this great performance Euskaltel won the team rank because Haimar finished 26th and Samuel went from 6 to 5 in the general rank and Igor Anton from 12 to 10. A great day for Euskaltel.

Stage Result
1 Samuel Sánchez (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi 4.45.59 (42.3 km/h)
2 Manuel Beltrán (Spa) Liquigas ST
3 Carlos Barredo (Spa) Quickstep - Innergetic +0.24
4 Igor Antón (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi +0.24
26. Haimar Zubeldia +2.32
114. Aitor Hernandez +22.15
135. Iñigo Landaluze +22.15
136. Iñaki Isasi +22.15
137. Dionisio Galparsoro +22.15
139. Alan Perez +22.15
141. Koldo Fernandez +22.15

General Rank
1 Denis Menchov (Rus) Rabobank 62.32.27
2 Vladimir Efimkin (Rus) Caisse d'Epargne +2.01
3 Cadel Evans (Aus) Predictor - Lotto +2.27
4 Carlos Sastre (Spa) Team CSC +3.02
5 Samuel Sánchez (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi +4.01
10. Igor Anton +7.41
47. Haimar Zubeldia +41.33
54. Dionisio Galparsoro +50.17
80. Iñaki Isasi +1.06.58
90. Iñigo Landaluze +1.18.01
91. Aitor Hernandez +1.18.49
94. Alan Perez +1.20.22
146. Koldo Fernandez +1.59.18

Geen opmerkingen: