woensdag 14 mei 2008

Giro 5 : Not much of Euskaltel

The fifth stage of the Giro was once again one of a boring race with a thrilling end. Early in the race Dioni and Alan tried to get away but they didn't succeed. It were F. Perez, Laverde, Fröhlinger, Brutt and Millar who were in the break of the day. In the peloton some teams made the pace but it wasn't enough to get the break back, so the five battled it out for the victory.
It was Millar who seemed like the biggest contestant but on the end climb he had a technical problem with his bike, had to stop and threw his bike away. On the same moment Brutt attacked and the other three couldn't get him back although he nearly died in the last metres.For Euskaltel Dioni was the first to finish on a 58th place.
Tomorrow we will get another stage for the semi-climbers or a break, hopefully this time with Euskaltel.
1 Pavel Brutt (Rus) Tinkoff Credit Systems 5.04.52 (39.951 km/h)
2 Johannes Fröhlinger (Ger) Gerolsteiner +0.04
3 Luis Felipe Laverde Jimenez (Col) CSF Group Navigare +0.10
58. Dionisio Galparsoro +0:31
72. Ivan Velasco +0:57
81. Markel Irizar +2:21
135. Alan Perez +5:41
136. Iñigo Landaluze +5:41
148. Josu Agirre +13:27
150. Lander Aperribay +13:27
171. Aitor Galdos +13:39
172. Koldo Fernandez +13:39
General Rank
1 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Liquigas 21.46.49
2 Christian Vande Velde (USA) Slipstream Chipotle +0.01
3 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) LPR Brakes +0.07
78. Markel Irizar +4:10
84. Alan Perez +7:12
89. Ivan Velasco +7:47
103. Iñigo Landaluze +12:00
107. Dionisio Galparsoro +12:48
146. Koldo Fernandez +25:17
165. Josu Agirre +31:01
168. Aitor Galdos +31:34
179. Lander Aperribay +37:43

Geen opmerkingen: